Development Diary #9: Magic and UI!

Hi again! Long time no see.

In this Development Diary, we’re going to talk a bit about the new magic selection system that is tied in with the game’s progression, as well as UI in general.

How UI works in Tamarrion

In Tamarrion, all changes to the character are made in the game, inside of UI and menus; just like any other RPG. Items, stats, maps and spells can all be customized, changed and sorted within these menus. As a general philosophy here at Frostfyr, we want the player to be able to take full control of the way they approach the game, so we’re working on giving the player as many options to change and customize their play style as possible. This means that changing abilities and items has to be both balanced, interesting and easy.


Tamarrion’s inventory system. This is a work in progress, and does not represent the final product.

The inventory system for example is divided into three sections, an inspector, a currently equipped section and the List of items. The inspector shows the Name, the lore and the stats of the items, as well as comparing the stats of the items to your currently equipped item. The list shows your hoard of loot that you’ve acquired through the game, and allows you to easily equip and change items by double clicking the item. The same design of this system is applied on our Spells and Abilities menu as well.


So, in the same way as items are equipped, spells are also interchangeable and use the same basics of the aforementioned system, with a couple of changes.

Spells are divided into five different categories:

High lord – Holy

Revenna – War (Melee)

Eir – Defense

Verristien – Arcane Magic

Aiana – Nature (Support)

Each of these gods has their own “tree”, meaning that they are sub-categorized in different tiers of worth and power. Each tier can contain more than one spell and/or a passive ability, but can only be unlocked if connected (look at example above).

Blank Diagram - Page 1.png

Mock-up of the tiered Magic Selection Tiers

Let’s look at this made-up example of the Melee ability tree (or Revenna the god of War):

Tier 1: Charge leads to both Tier 2 abilities, whirl and slam, but is also connected to its own passive ability that makes the Charge a better ability.

Tier 2: Slam also has a Passive, but is a Tier 3 ability. The Tier 3 Ability is not connected to the rest of the tree, so it does not allow the player to chose another spell, but rather just upgrades the Slam ability from Tier 2. Whirl on the other hand leads directly to a Tier 3 ability, and does not allow the player to chose the Passive (which wouldn’t be of much use if the player had not chosen Slam anyway).

Tier 3: In tier 3, only Rampage would connect further down to a possible Tier 4.

This might look a bit complicated at first, but if you’ve ever played World of Warcraft or perhaps Grim Dawn, you’d quickly understand the system.

Progression of abilities

In order to unlock the spells of the different tier, favor of the god has to be earned. There are several ways of earning favor.

  • Defeating Bosses
  • Unlocking Achievements
  • Exploring and finding lore snippets in the world
  • And so on.

These favor points may be used to unlock abilities in the Spell trees. Each tier ups the favor cost, so the player has to chose which abilities they want to spend their hard earned favor on.

That’s it for this week! Another Development Diary will be out in two weeks!



The new website is now live!

We have just launched our new website!

Check it out at and tell us what you think on our Facebook page or Reddit!

Since our last post the team has been working hard on not only the game, but preparing for upcoming events and redesigning the website as well. We hope that you will find it easier and smoother to navigate and find the information you want. To give you even more info on Tamarrion we will continue to add features to the website, including more screenshots of the new areas!

Soon you will be able to sign up again, so keep an eye out for more news!